The conservation village of Fordyce is the epitome of refined country living. The warren of narrow streets and beautifully preserved houses look as though they have been brought to life from a painting on the top of a chocolate box. In fact, if you gave a little girl a pen and told her to draw her own fairytale village, Fordyce would magically appear on the page.
The village was first built in medieval times and still has its 13th century church and 16th century castle at its heart. The origins of the village are believed to go back nearly 1400 years to the foundation of a church by the Pictish Saint, St Tarlarican (St Tarquin). Bishop Elphinstone, founder of Aberdeen University, was granted a charter which gave Fordyce Burgh of Barony status in 1499.
Visitors will be able to get a glimpse of life in days gone by with a visit to the Fordyce Joiner’s Workshop – a museum which shows the skills of rural craftsmen in the days when there was no complicated machinery – just their own handmade tools. Visitors can enjoy an audio visual tour and watch craftsmen at work before rounding off their visit with a stroll around the charming Victorian garden which adjoins the living museum.
Fordyce has a very good network of paths in the woodland around the village, some of which give views of the coastline just a few miles away.